Your location is currently in use in Windows 10

The Location Tracking service in Windows 10, will tell the apps where your location is ad you may or may not want this happening. When any app use the Location settings to identify your location, you will see a round icon in your taskbar. This would mean that your location is currently in use in Windows 10.

Your-location-is-currently-in-use-1

Your location is currently in use

If you do not want your Windows 10 device to reveal your loaction, you can disable this service. To do so open Settings > Privacy > Location.

Your-location-is-currently-in-use.jpg

Disable Location Tracking for each user

In the right side, you will have to toggle the Location slider from the On position to the Off position.

When you do this, the Location Tracking service for your account, will be disabled and apps and services will not be able to request for, your location and location history.

Turn off Location Tracking for entire device

If you want to totally disable the Location setting, just above this setting, you will see a Change button. Click on it and set the Location for this device as Off.

When you do this, the location for your deviced is set to Off, the Location services will be disabled for all the users.

Clear Location History

While there, you may also want to clear Location history on this device, by clicking on the Clear button.

Choose apps that can use your location

Below this you can choose apps that can use your location. Here you can control the location settings for each app individually. To do this, both the above settings have to set to On.

apps-location

Geofencing

Scroll down further and you will see a Geofencing setting. A Geofence is a geographical boundary. Apps will use your location to see if you are crossing this boundary either way. If any of your apps use this feature, you will be offered a setting to turn it On or Off.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: