Users will also be able to hide posts and images that they post, stopping their ex from seeing them. This is effectively the same option as above, but simply reversed. Exes will no longer see what a user posts unless specifically tagged, for example.
While the two options are great for future posts, Facebook will also allow users to effectively wipe their ex from their Facebook history as well, untagging themselves from posts, photos and videos. It may be the nuclear option, but if you’re in the middle of a breakup, it can be an important step. A bit like burning old photographs, if you will.
Importantly, none of these changes will be notified to the ex in question, again avoiding any uncomfortable questions as a result.
Facebook has made a business out of connecting people, but it does at least realize that sometimes the exact opposite is what people really want and need. These new tools reflect that, and will be extremely useful to those who simple want to excise someone from their life without un-friending them completely.